Indian Railways and Zones

The government of India's Ministry of Railways owns the statutory organisation known as Indian Railways (IR), which manages the country's entire rail network. With a total route length of 68,103 km (42,317 mi) as of 31 March 2022, it oversees the fourth largest national railway system in the world by size. As of 1 April 2022, a total of 52,247 km (32,465 mi) or 83% of all broad-gauge routes are electrified with 25 kV 50 Hz AC electric traction.

The chairman of the four-member Railway Board, which oversees Indian Railways, answers to the Ministry of Railways. The Ministry of Railways is also the Railway Board. The majority of the officers working in the Railway Board office are employed by the secretariat and organised Group A Railway Services. There are 18 zones within IR, each with a general manager in charge who answers to the Railway Board. The 71 operating divisions that make up the divisional railway managers' further division of the zones are (DRM). The operation and upkeep of assets is the responsibility of the divisional officers of the engineering, mechanical, electrical, signal and telecommunication, stores, accounts, personnel, operating, commercial, security, and safety branches, who answer to their respective DRMs. Individual stations and train movements within the boundaries of their stations are under the control of station masters. The Railway Board also has control over a number of production facilities, educational institutions, public sector businesses, and other offices.

List of Zones in Indian Railways :-  Name of zone  Head Quater Divisons
 1.  Central Railway  Mumbai  Mumbai, Bhusawal, Nagpur,solapur, Pune
 2.  Eastern Railway  Kolkata  Asansol, Howrah, Maldsa, Sealdah
 3. East Central Railway   Hajipur

Danapur, Dhanbad, Mughalsarai, 

Samastipur, Sonpur 

 4. East Coast Railway  Bhubaneswar  Khurda Road, SambalPur, Waltair 
 5. Northern Railway  New Delhi 

Ambala, Delhi, Lucknow, Moradabad


 6. North Central Railway  Allahabad Allahabad, Agra, Jhansi 
 7. North Eastern Railway  Gorakhpur  Lucknow, Izzatnager, Varanasi 
 8.  Northeast Frontier Railway  Guwahati  Katihar, Alipurduar, Rangiya, Lumding, Tinsukia 
 9. North Western Railway  Jaipur  Ajmer, Bikaner, Jaipur, Jodhpur 
 10.  Southern Railway Chennai  Chennai, Madurai, Palghat, Trichy, Trivandrum, Salem 
11. Southern Central Railways Secundrabad Guntakal, Guntur, Hyderabad, Nanded, Secundrabad, Vijayawada
12. South Eastern Railway Kolkata Adra, Chandradharpur, Kharagpur, Ranchi
13. South East Central Railway Bilaspur Bilaspur, Nagpur, Raipur
14. South Western Railway Hubli Bangalore, Hubi, Mysore
15. Western Railway Mumbai Mumbai(Central ), Vadodara, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar
16.  West Central Railway Jabalpur Bhopal, Jabalpur, Kota,
 17. Metro Railway  Kolkata  Not applicable