Eastern Railway Zone

Among the 19 zones of the Indian Railways is the Eastern Railway, also known as ER. Howrah, Malda, Sealdah, and Asansol are its four divisions; its headquarters are located at Fairley Place in Kolkata. A Divisional Railway Manager is in charge of each division (DRM). The division's name refers to the name of the city in which its administrative centre is situated. The largest and second-largest rail complexes in the nation, Howrah Junction and Sealdah Railway Station, are managed by Eastern Railway. It also has the most A1 and A Category Stations, including Howrah, Malda Town, Sealdah, Asansol, Kolkata, Durgapur, Barddhaman, Rampurhat Junction, Bhagalpur, Jasidih, Bandel, and Naihati. India's oldest train, the Kalka Mail, is run by Eastern Railways.

Name of Zone   Eastern Railway Zone
 Head Quarter  Fairley Place, Kolkata

 Howrah Railway Division

Sealdah Railway Division

Asansol Railway Division

Malda Railway Division 

 Major Routes

 Howrah Delhi Mainline

 Grand Chord and Howrah-Allahabad-Mumbai  line

 Sahibganj Loop

 Howrah-New Jalpaiguri Line

 Official Website  https://er.indianrailways.gov.in/
 Dates of Operations  14 April 1952
 Length  2,818.484 Km
 Contact details  
17,Netaji Subhas Road ,
 Fairlie Place,
 Kolkata -700001